The Instron GmbH and the Hottinger Baldwin Messtechnik GmbH present since 2005 awards for outstanding work on structural durability among Darmstadt’s young engineers and scientists. Both awards are presented at the symposium. Additionally the international OPEL-Award will be presented for the first time as part of the young talents session.

Five SoSDiD-Awardees in 2014

The HBM-Award

Dr. Halvar Schmidt, Fraunhofer LBF, for his PhD thesis
Fatigue Analysis of Structural Adhesive Joints under Variable Amplitude Loading.


for Fatigue Assessments fo Weld Ends.
Erik Schmidt-Staubach presented the Instron-Award to the research team of
Fachgebiet Werkstoffmechanik, TU Darmstadt.